Vegan Cooking

28 Dec

Last week I received a call from a new prospect client. Barbara wanted to learn how to prepare vegan dishes so they were palatable to her and her husband.  Once she had chosen vegan way of life for her herself and her husband (retirees from New York) she was eating steamed vegetables every day.As you would expect it was BORING. They don’t like ANY spices, even black pepper was out of the question.

Like me, Barbara keeps kosher.  I told her about some dishes that came to mind: black bean soup, mejedra, veggie and tofu stir fry, brown rice, quinoa, roast vegetables, peanut butter cookies, split pea soup and vichyssoise.  Easy Peasy.

My new client wanted a hands on class.  She helped peel, slice, dice and stir. I explained how browning the vegetables slightly brings out their natural sweetness and carmelization.  It was proven successful by Barbara’s husband’s taste test of the tofu stir fry saying “hey, this is good!”.  He said the same thing about the vichyssoise (cold potato and leek soup) even before it had cooled.  Before I forget, #vegantasty, #chefhelen, #tofustirfry, #tastyvegan, #personalchefkosher, #personalchefkosher, #personalchefrecipes.

I got too busy cooking, I I find myself “in the zone” when I start cooking so unfortunately I don’t have pics to share.  Perhaps, next time I  will remember?

Next post will have recipes.  Is there anything you want to see?  Are you looking to learn how t prepare specific dishes?  I would love to help you (in the Palm Beach County, Florida area.  If not, I know Personal Chefs in other parts of the country to refer you to.

Let’s hope and pray 2017 brings us all of the health, prosperity, and more that we wish for ourselves and others

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

